SEJ delegation leaders announce support for separation 'protocol'

SEJ delegation leaders announce support for separation 'protocol'

January 30, 2020

Leaders of 14 delegations representing annual conferences of the Southeastern Jurisdiction announced today their affirmation for a recently proposed separation plan for the future of The United Methodist Church. The plan is entitled "Protocol of Grace & Reconciliation Through Separation." 

Emily Ballard, head of Holston Conference's delegation, and the Rev. Kim Goddard, first elected clergy, are among the 26 who signed the statement.

Share questions and comments with the Holston delegation by writing to

General Conference 2020 will be held May 5-15 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Here is the statement released today:

January 29, 2020

Statement from SEJ Heads of Delegation regarding Protocol:

We, the undersigned SEJ Lay and Clergy Heads of Delegations, affirm the work done on the ‘Protocol of Grace & Reconciliation Through Separation’ and recommend the Protocol be among the first legislative items considered by General Conference 2020. We look forward to seeing the related legislation and give thanks to those who did this work on our behalf. 

SEJ Lay and Clergy Heads of Delegations who support this statement include:

Larry Bryars, Clergy, Alabama West Florida Annual Conference
Molly McEntire, Lay, Florida Annual Conference
Alex Shanks, Clergy, Florida Annual Conference
Emily Ballard, Lay, Holston Annual Conference
Kim M. Goddard, Clergy, Holston Annual Conference
Alan Beuscher, Lay, Kentucky Annual Conference
Bill Arnold, Clergy, Kentucky Annual Conference
David Reed, Lay, Memphis Annual Conference
Autura Eason-Williams, Clergy, Memphis Annual Conference
David Stotts, Lay, Mississippi Annual Conference
Fred Britton, Clergy, Mississippi Annual Conference
Steve Lyles, Lay, North Alabama Annual Conference
Glenn Conner, Clergy, North Alabama Annual Conference
Christine Dodson, Lay, North Carolina Annual Conference
Jane Finley, Lay, North Georgia Annual Conference
Byron E. Thomas, Clergy, North Georgia Annual Conference
Marilyn R. Osborne, Lay, Red Bird Missionary Conference
Robert Amundsen, Clergy, Red Bird Missionary Conference
Bill Hatcher, Lay, South Georgia Annual Conference
Jim Cowart, Clergy, South Georgia Annual Conference
Jim Allen, Lay, Tennessee Annual Conference
Harriet Bryan, Clergy, Tennessee Annual Conference
Warren R. Harper, Lay, Virginia Annual Conference
Tom Berlin, Clergy, Virginia Annual Conference
Jennifer Davis, Lay, Western North Carolina Annual Conference
Kimberly T. Ingram, Clergy, Western North Carolina Annual Conference

Related News

The current Holston Conference delegation was elected during the June 2019 session of Annual Conference meeting in Lake Junaluska, N.C.
Holston delegation responds to proposed separation plan

January 4, 2020 The Holston Conference delegation to General Conference 2020 has issued the following letter in response to the document Protocol of Reconciliation & Grace Through Separation.   Dear Members and Friends of the Holston Conference,   ...