'The Call' wins awards for writing, food blog

'The Call' wins awards for writing, food blog

The Rev. Hector Burgos announces the "Best of Class" winner for internet communications during the denomination's awards banquet for communicators.

The Call, the news publication of Holston Conference, received two first-place awards for original stories during an online awards show for United Methodist communicators held March 10.

In addition, a food and faith spin-off blog, The Call to Cook, won first place in the blog division, followed by a “Best of Class” award for internet communications. The cooking blog featuring Holston United Methodists edged out other blogs, social media content, and website nominees submitted by agencies, annual conferences, and local churches throughout the denomination.

Annette Spence, editor of The Call, was asked to submit a video accepting the award for the cooking blog, launched in July 2019. The acceptance video was shown to communicators along with videos submitted by nine other “Best of Class” winners in their categories.

Also recognized during the awards ceremony was Holston Conference native Katie Sluder for her role in creating an Easter choral video at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic. The “Best in Class” award for videos, also known as the Hilly Hicks Award of Excellence, was presented to the United Methodist Communications Member Services team for “Worldwide Easter Choir: ‘Christ the Lord is Risen Today.’”

Stories by Spence winning 2021 top awards during the annual United Methodist Association of Communicators awards include:

Article series by annual conference or local church
1st place: "Justice Profiles" (Articles 12345)

Feature article by annual conference or local church
1st place: Struggling to Survive: Church Feeds Neighbors on a Shoestring
2nd place: United Methodists Work in Dangerous New World to Help Others

In 2019, Spence won the Donn Doten Award of Excellence for her story, His Struggle Made Him Who He is: ‘God Wastes Nothing.’

Find out more about the UMAC 2021 awards.