27 Holston students receive United Methodist scholarship awards

27 Holston students receive United Methodist scholarship awards


Nov. 24 is United Methodist Student Day

Twenty-seven college students from Holston Conference are among the 2,500 receiving award money in 2013 from the United Methodist General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM).

The Holston students received a total of $29,850 from the $5 million awarded for this academic year, the GBHEM announced.

The scholarships were funded in part by offerings received on United Methodist Student Day, World Communion Sunday, and Native American Sunday. The remaining funds for these awards come from gifts, annuities and endowments GBHEM has invested and administered for decades.

Church members are encouraged to give to the United Methodist Student Day offering on Nov. 24. Write a check to your local church with "UM Student Day" on the memo line or give online

The following students from Holston churches received United Methodist scholarship awards in 2013:

  • Elizabeth Barr: University of Tennessee/ Ebenezer UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Palmer Cantler: Wofford College/ Munsey Memorial UMC, Johnson City, Tenn.
  • Rachel Collins: Tennessee Tech. University/ First UMC, Sweetwater, Tenn.
  • Thomas Collins: Duke University Divinity School/ First UMC, Sweetwater, Tenn.
  • Brenda Dowell: University of South School of Theology/ St. Elmo UMC, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • SummerBrook Courtney-Lawson: Elon University/ Asbury UMC, Greeneville, Tenn.
  • Kelli Eldridge: Asbury Theological Seminary/ State Street UMC, Bristol, Va.
  • Kylie Gooden: Asbury College/ Signal Crest UMC, Signal Mountain, Tenn.
  • Ryan Heatherly: Asbury Theological Seminary/ Cokesbury UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Maria Jimenez: Pellissippi State Community College/ La Casa Del Alfarero UMC, Philadelphia, Tenn.
  • Holly Jones: Birmingham Southern College / Central UMC, Lenoir City, Tenn.
  • Brandon Lazarus: Southern Methodist University, Perkins School of Theology/ Concord UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Rachel McCausland: Carson-Newman College/ Broadway UMC, Maryville, Tenn.
  • Alexander Parrott: University of Tennessee/ First UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Benjamin Parrott: University of Tennessee/ First UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Steven Pederson: Asbury Theological Seminary/ First Broad Street UMC, Kingsport, Tenn.
  • Haley Phelps: Tennessee Wesleyan College/ St. Marks UMC, Louisville, Tenn.
  • Mary Renner: Emory & Henry College/ Clear Springs UMC, Limestone, Tenn.
  • Lauren Robinson: Duke University Divinity School/ Middlebrook Pike UMC, Knoxville, Tenn. 
  • Alexandra Fesmire Shelton: Full Sail University/ Keith Memorial UMC, Athens, Tenn. 
  • Magan Stubblefield: Duke Divinity School/ First Alcoa UMC, Alcoa, Tenn.
  • Stacy Swafford: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga/ First UMC, Cleveland, Tenn.
  • Syndney Varajon: Tennessee Wesleyan College/ Keith Memorial UMC, Athens, Tenn.
  • Mary Williams: University of Virginia/ First Bluefield UMC, Bluefield, Va.
  • Courtney Winston: Middle Tennessee State University/ Lennon-Seney UMC, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Rebekah Wright: University of Tennessee/ Jonesborough UMC, Jonesborough, Tenn.
  • Sarah Wright: East Tennessee State University/ Jonesborough UMC, Jonesborough, Tenn.