Events

October 2019

MV - Retired Ministers Fellowship

Thursday, November 7, 2019 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Retired Ministers Fellowship Thursday, November 7⋅12:00 – 2:00pm Davy Crockett Restaurant, 3282 E Morris Blvd, Morristown, TN 37813 Organizer: christinecoley@holston.org  

Lay Servant/Speaker Training - MV

Saturday, November 9, 2019 8:00 AM to 5:30 PM

Experiencing the World of the Bible: Elusive Archaeology of Exodus

Monday, November 11, 2019 to Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Location: Foundation for Evangelism
In  this  seminar, sponsored by the Intentional Growth Center and the Foundation for Evangelism and  led by Dr. James Fleming, we  will study the sparse archaeological clues that, with a discerning eye, can be examined to reveal how life would have ...
View more

Experiencing the World of the Bible II: Biblical Roots of Interfaith Conflict & Understanding

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 to Friday, November 15, 2019
Location: Foundation for Evangelism
This  seminar, sponsored by the Intentional Growth Center and the Foundation for Evangelism and led by Dr. James Fleming, begins with a foundational understanding of the roots of interfaith conflict and continues with an informed conversation about ...
View more

Wild and Wonderful Senior Event

Thursday, November 14, 2019
Location: First UMC, Morristown
Worship, workshops, for senior adults in Mountain View District. Lunch included.

Board of Ordained Ministry - Fall Meeting

Thursday, November 14, 2019

SEJ Clergywomen's Conference: Uncharted

Monday, November 18, 2019 to Thursday, November 21, 2019
Location: Hyatt Regency, Jacksonville
Ministry is beautiful, challenging, rewarding, and frustrating. Where we end up is often not where we first sought out to be; sometimes that turns out beautifully and sometimes…it doesn’t feel so beautiful. The theme “Uncharted” was chosen with great...
View more

Camp in the Community Host Church Application Deadline for 2020

Saturday, November 30, 2019
Camp In The Community Host Church Application Deadline for 2020

Candidacy Summit Registrations Due

Sunday, December 1, 2019
Candidacy Summit Holston Conference Center Alcoa, TN    

HOLY SPIRIT SEMINAR

Friday, December 6, 2019 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM
Location: Christ UMC Dayton, Ohio
God has gifted the church with equipping ministries. Apostles, prophets, pastors, teachers and evangelists are sent by Jesus to impart and activate gifts and anointings for the work of the ministry. Join us for the 8th Annual Holy Spirit Seminar, “...

Mountain View District Office Closed

Tuesday, December 24, 2019 to Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Mountain View District Office Closed

Annual Reports due to Conference Secretary

Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Reports due from Extension Ministries, Deacons, Medical Leave, Etc    

2020 LPLS Registration due

Wednesday, January 1, 2020 to Wednesday, July 1, 2020
2020 LPLS Registration due Questions: ClergyServices@holston.org

Five Things About Dementia from a Faith Perspective

Friday, January 17, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: Online Webinar
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

SEJ Cabinet Consultation

Monday, January 20, 2020 to Thursday, January 23, 2020
Location: Epworth By the Sea
Register now to attend the annual SEJ Cabinet Consultation at beautiful Epworth By The Sea! Come worship, fellowship and network with fellow District Superintendents and Director of Connectional Ministries Appointees. Program includes music, plenary ...
View more

Creativity Orlando

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:00 AM to Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 4:00 PM
Location: Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort
What to expect from this Leadership Nexus event: HOPE for the CHURCH from theologians, pastors and experts in creative leadership  INSIGHT into connecting with our ever changing culture  FREEDOM to dream and think outside the box about being the ...
View more

Winter Conference

Sunday, January 26, 2020 to Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Location: Epworth by the Sea
Keynote Speaker: LEN WILSON, Creative Director at St. Andrew UMC, a large church in Plano, TX. He is a storyteller and expert strategist in communications and creativity in church life. After GC 2019, each church will need a clear, concise, creative ...
View more

Five Things for Being a Good Visitor to Someone w/Dementia

Thursday, March 12, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: Online Webinar
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

Board of Ordained Ministry Meeting

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Orientation for Full Connection membership

Friday, April 24, 2020 to Saturday, April 25, 2020
April 24-25, 2020 at Camp Bays Mountain

Beyond the Basics of Online Church

Thursday, May 7, 2020 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Location: Online - webinar
Ready to take your online worship to the next level? Maybe you started online ministry because of Covid-19 but now you are thinking about how this ministry might reach new people when the pandemic ends? If so then join for a Good Idea Webinar taking ...
View more

Practical Strategies for Church-Based Community Transformation

Saturday, May 16, 2020 1:30 AM to 3:30 AM
Location: Online webinar
The global refugee crisis continues to rise at a high rate. Now there are more displaced people around the world than ever in our history. The role of the church to respond to this global crisis remains vital as ever. In this webinar, we will discuss...
View more

Healthy Stewardship in the Local Church

Monday, June 1, 2020 to Friday, June 5, 2020
Location: Online Course
Taught by Dr. Ann Michel, this Wesley Seminary course will consist of an Exploration of the biblical and theological basis for healthy congregational stewardship and a survey of best practices for cultivating generosity.. 1.5 CEUs Topics include: ...
View more

Bishop's Day With Ordinands

Thursday, June 4, 2020

Full Connection Member Orientation

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Church Finances

Monday, July 6, 2020 to Friday, July 10, 2020
Location: Online Course
Led by Dr. Lovett Weems, this course will feature an exploration of budgets, income, expenses, giving, and administration from both a theological perspective and from the best practices of financial transparency and accountability.   1.5 CEUs ...
View more

When Trauma Wounds – Self-Care & Compassionate Care

Tuesday, July 28, 2020 to Thursday, August 27, 2020
Location: Online course
  When Trauma Wounds  Self-Care & Compassionate Care Workshop Leader: Karen McClintock M.Div. Ph.D.     Plan on joining us for an on-line (Zoom) 1.5-hour class per week ...
Register

2nd Corinthians: Live with Prof. N.T. Wright

Monday, August 3, 2020 11:00 AM to Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 2:00 PM
Location: Online Course
How can a church overcome deep divisions? How can you face persecution and become more resilient? How do Christian leaders 'lead' in the face of opposition from within their own congregations? These difficult questions were present for the church in ...
View more

Holy Land and Jordan Experience 2020

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 to Monday, August 16, 2021
Location: Holy Land and Jordan
Join Bishop "Dindy" and Rusty Taylor on our 2020 Holy Land Tour and Jordan Experience On the first leg of your tour, August 4 - 13, visit locations where Jesus walked and preached in Galilee, and follow the footsteps of Christ through Bethlehem, ...

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, August 7, 2020 to Sunday, August 9, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

2020 Local Pastor Licensing School (LPLS)

Saturday, August 29, 2020 to Saturday, October 24, 2020
Location: Online
Register

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, September 11, 2020 to Sunday, September 13, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

Elder and Deacon Written Materials Due

Monday, September 21, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, October 9, 2020 to Sunday, October 11, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

BOM Fall Meeting

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Candidacy Summit Registrations Due

Monday, December 7, 2020

iCal