Events

November 2019

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, November 1, 2019
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

World Community Day

Friday, November 1, 2019
World Community Day

Emory & Henry Fall Board Meeting

Friday, November 1, 2019 to Saturday, November 2, 2019

Election Day

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Election Day

MV - Retired Ministers Fellowship

Thursday, November 7, 2019 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Retired Ministers Fellowship Thursday, November 7⋅12:00 – 2:00pm Davy Crockett Restaurant, 3282 E Morris Blvd, Morristown, TN 37813 Organizer: christinecoley@holston.org  

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, November 9, 2019
Location: To Be Determined
CCYM Meeting

UMVIM Team Leader Training November 2019

Saturday, November 9, 2019
Location: First UMC, Oak Ridge
  TRAIN YOUR LEADER! UMVIM TEAM LEADER TRAINING WILL BE OFFERED IN HOLSTON CONFERENCE    SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 9 Time: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Price: $26 at the door Who Should Attend: UMVIM Team Leaders needing this training and any persons interested ...
View more

Lay Servant/Speaker Training - MV

Saturday, November 9, 2019 8:00 AM to 5:30 PM

Experiencing the World of the Bible: Elusive Archaeology of Exodus

Monday, November 11, 2019 to Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Location: Foundation for Evangelism
In  this  seminar, sponsored by the Intentional Growth Center and the Foundation for Evangelism and  led by Dr. James Fleming, we  will study the sparse archaeological clues that, with a discerning eye, can be examined to reveal how life would have ...
View more

Experiencing the World of the Bible II: Biblical Roots of Interfaith Conflict & Understanding

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 to Friday, November 15, 2019
Location: Foundation for Evangelism
This  seminar, sponsored by the Intentional Growth Center and the Foundation for Evangelism and led by Dr. James Fleming, begins with a foundational understanding of the roots of interfaith conflict and continues with an informed conversation about ...
View more

Extended Cabinet

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Location: Holston Conference Center
Extended Cabinet

Wild and Wonderful Senior Event

Thursday, November 14, 2019
Location: First UMC, Morristown
Worship, workshops, for senior adults in Mountain View District. Lunch included.

Appointment Cabinet

Thursday, November 14, 2019
Location: Holston Conference Center
Appointment Cabinet

Board of Ordained Ministry - Fall Meeting

Thursday, November 14, 2019

In Living Culture: Creating & Releasing “Active” Cultures for “Effective” Transition and Growth in Cross-Cultural Appointments

Friday, November 15, 2019 to Saturday, November 16, 2019
Location: Fellowship UMC, TX
Sponsored by Discipleship Ministries, Path 1 and Cowley Coaching , this event will equip pastors, bishops, cabinets, and congregations with knowledge and strategies to create more vital, growing churches where pastors and laity in cross-cultural ...
View more

Resurrection Talent Results Due

Friday, November 15, 2019
Resurrection Talent Results Due

Lay Servant/Speaker Training - CM

Saturday, November 16, 2019 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
November 16, 2019 at Main Street UMC, Tazewell, VA - Learn More

SEJ Clergywomen's Conference: Uncharted

Monday, November 18, 2019 to Thursday, November 21, 2019
Location: Hyatt Regency, Jacksonville
Ministry is beautiful, challenging, rewarding, and frustrating. Where we end up is often not where we first sought out to be; sometimes that turns out beautifully and sometimes…it doesn’t feel so beautiful. The theme “Uncharted” was chosen with great...
View more

National Bible Week

Sunday, November 24, 2019 to Sunday, December 1, 2019
National Bible Week

Thanksgiving Holiday - District and Conference Offices Closed

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 to Friday, November 29, 2019
Thanksgiving Holiday - District and Conference Offices Closed

Camp in the Community Host Church Application Deadline for 2020

Saturday, November 30, 2019
Camp In The Community Host Church Application Deadline for 2020

Candidacy Summit Registrations Due

Sunday, December 1, 2019
Candidacy Summit Holston Conference Center Alcoa, TN    

All materials/reports due for Book of Reports

Sunday, December 1, 2019
Deadline for all materials and reports to be submitted for inclusion in the 2020 Book of Reports (BOR). To submit Material(s) / Report(s) for inclusion in the 2020 BOR, email the following information to ConferenceSecretary@holston.org no later than...

Hispanic Ministry Program Grant Application Deadline

Monday, December 2, 2019
The Hispanic/Latino Ministries Team invites local churches to submit grants for Hispanic/Latino ministries and outreach for 2020. Grant applications must be submitted by Monday, December 2, 2019. A signature from your district superintendent is ...

2020 Candidacy Summit - Late registration

Monday, December 2, 2019 to Sunday, December 16, 2001
Register here

Clinch Mountain Christmas Open House

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 to Friday, December 13, 2019
Location: Clinch Mountain District Office

HOLY SPIRIT SEMINAR

Friday, December 6, 2019 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM
Location: Christ UMC Dayton, Ohio
God has gifted the church with equipping ministries. Apostles, prophets, pastors, teachers and evangelists are sent by Jesus to impart and activate gifts and anointings for the work of the ministry. Join us for the 8th Annual Holy Spirit Seminar, “...

Appointment Cabinet

Saturday, December 7, 2019
Location: Holston Conference Center
Appointment Cabinet

Conference Staff Christmas Luncheon

Tuesday, December 10, 2019 12:00 PM

Extended Cabinet Dinner

Friday, December 13, 2019
Extended Cabinet Dinner/Picnic

4th Sunday of Advent (Purple or Blue)

Sunday, December 22, 2019
Lectionary Reading Links: Isaiah 7:10-16 Psalm 80:1-7, 17-19 (UMH 801) Romans 1:1-7 Matthew 1:18-25
View more

Christmas Holiday - Offices Closed

Tuesday, December 24, 2019 to Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Conference and District Offices Closed in observance of Christmas Day

Mountain View District Office Closed

Tuesday, December 24, 2019 to Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Mountain View District Office Closed

Three Rivers District Office Closed

Tuesday, December 24, 2019 to Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Closed for the holidays. Contact the District Superintendent Lauri Jo Cranford directly if you have an emergency. 

Kwanzaa Begins (through January 1)

Thursday, December 26, 2019
December 26 - January 1
View more

Holston Home 5th Sunday Offering

Sunday, December 29, 2019
Fifth Sunday offering for Holston Home for Children, Inc.
View more

Conference and District Offices Closed

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Annual Reports due to Conference Secretary

Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Reports due from Extension Ministries, Deacons, Medical Leave, Etc    

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Jubilation Registration Begins

Monday, January 6, 2020

National Conference on Youth Ministries

Monday, January 6, 2020 6:30 PM to Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 12:00 PM
Location: Sheraton Arlington Hotel
National Conference on Youth Ministries exists to provide professional level training for men and women serving within youth ministries all across the nation. This year's theme is "Before Us." Featured speakers include Chris Seidman, Mike Cope, Rick ...

Candidacy Summit

Saturday, January 11, 2020 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

UMC LEAD

Sunday, January 12, 2020 7:00 PM to Wednesday, January 15, 2020 at 9:00 PM
Location: First UMC, Seattle
In the midst of talk of the “death of the church,” vital, creative, life-giving communities exist around the world, in communities large and small. The LEAD conference has always strived to shine a spotlight on this emerging church, not as a hope for...

How to Start Serving People in Poverty

Monday, January 13, 2020 to Friday, January 31, 2020
Location: Online Course
Are you curious about how to serve the poor in your community? Are you a pastor seeking to start a new ministry to people in poverty around you? Are you a follower of Jesus who is eager to follow Him into those places outside your comfort zone where ...
View more

Nominations Committee Meeting

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appalachian Ministry Network Hunger and Poverty Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
This is a grant managed by AMN.

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Location: Holston Conference Center
Appointment Cabinet

Lay Servant/Speaker Training - TV

Saturday, January 18, 2020 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM

SEJ Cabinet Consultation

Monday, January 20, 2020 to Thursday, January 23, 2020
Location: Epworth By the Sea
Register now to attend the annual SEJ Cabinet Consultation at beautiful Epworth By The Sea! Come worship, fellowship and network with fellow District Superintendents and Director of Connectional Ministries Appointees. Program includes music, plenary ...
View more

Creativity Orlando

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:00 AM to Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 4:00 PM
Location: Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort
What to expect from this Leadership Nexus event: HOPE for the CHURCH from theologians, pastors and experts in creative leadership  INSIGHT into connecting with our ever changing culture  FREEDOM to dream and think outside the box about being the ...
View more

Resurrection

Friday, January 24, 2020 to Sunday, January 26, 2020
Location: LeConte Center
http://resurrectionyouth.com
View more

Winter Conference

Sunday, January 26, 2020 to Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Location: Epworth by the Sea
Keynote Speaker: LEN WILSON, Creative Director at St. Andrew UMC, a large church in Plano, TX. He is a storyteller and expert strategist in communications and creativity in church life. After GC 2019, each church will need a clear, concise, creative ...
View more

Feet First: Living Our Faith

Friday, January 31, 2020 to Sunday, February 2, 2020
Location: Kodak United Methodist Church
Romans 10:14-15 CEB So how can they call on someone they don’t have faith in? And how can they have faith in someone they haven’t heard of? And how can they hear without a preacher? And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, How ...
Register

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, January 31, 2020 to Saturday, February 1, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

Fresh Expressions Vision Day for Holston Conference

Saturday, February 1, 2020 9:00 AM to 3:30 PM
Location: Cokesbury UMC, North Campus
Fresh Expressions is a movement that is cultivating new forms of church alongside existing congregations in order to reach a changing world. Begun in England 10 years ago, it has resulted in the birth of over 2,500 new communities in the UK alone. ...
View more

Extended Cabinet

Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Thursday, February 6, 2020
Location: Holston Conference Center
Appointment Cabinet

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, February 7, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Caring with Compassion: First Responders & Their Families

Monday, February 10, 2020 to Saturday, March 28, 2020
Location: Online Course
This course will explore the lives of First Responders and what they experience in doing the job they have been called to. For the purposes of this course, we consider First Responders to be fire fighters, police, and paramedics. At one time, many ...
View more

Ministers Convocation

Monday, February 17, 2020 to Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Location: Music Road Hotel
Registration is now live! Just click on Register button at the right. Join us for another exciting Ministers Convocation event in February! Our theme is “Flourish: Health and Growth for Every Church.” Through our combination of speakers, whether ...
Register

UMW Finance Committee Meeting

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Proposed resolutions and petitions due to Committee on Petitions and Resolutions

Sunday, March 1, 2020
Any proposed resolution or petition must be in the hands of the Committee on Petitions and Resolutions. This gives the committee time to meet and compile its report for inclusion in the Book of Reports   

Clergy Spouses Retreat

Friday, March 6, 2020 to Sunday, March 8, 2020
Location: Country Cascades

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, March 7, 2020
Location: White Pine UMC

Appointment Week

Monday, March 9, 2020 to Friday, March 13, 2020

Foundation Spring Grants Deadline

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Emory & Henry Founders Day

Thursday, March 26, 2020

Emory & Henry Spring Board Meeting

Friday, March 27, 2020 to Saturday, March 28, 2020
On Campus.

Holston Home 5th Sunday Offering

Sunday, March 29, 2020
Fifth Sunday offering for Holston Home for Children, Inc.
View more

Appointment Cabinet

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Ray Van der Laan - The Last Days of Jesus

Friday, April 3, 2020 to Sunday, April 5, 2020
Location: Fairview UMC
This seminar, led by Ray Van Der Laan,  host of the “That The World May Know” video series, will explore the week of Jesus life from Palm Sunday to Easter in the setting of the city of Jerusalem.  These familiar stories become fresh and powerful when...

Book of Reports goes to print

Monday, April 6, 2020
   

Good Friday - Offices Closed

Friday, April 10, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Board of Ordained Ministry Meeting

Thursday, April 16, 2020

UMW SEJ Meeting

Friday, April 17, 2020 to Sunday, April 19, 2020
Location: Mobile, AL

Women in Ministry Retreat

Sunday, April 19, 2020 to Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Jubilation 2020

Monday, April 20, 2020 to Wednesday, April 22, 2020
  A retreat for adults of all ages, older adult leaders, and clergy. Registration opens January 2020  Please share this information with your Adults of all ages and encourage them to join us in April.  More information to follow in December 2019. ...
View more

Administrative Professionals Day

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Earth Day

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, April 24, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

UMW Rise Event

Friday, April 24, 2020 to Sunday, April 26, 2020
Location: MainStay Suites

Foundation Board Meeting

Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:00 PM

Council of Bishops Meeting

Thursday, April 30, 2020 to Monday, May 4, 2020

General Conference 2020

Tuesday, May 5, 2020 to Friday, May 15, 2020
Location: Minneapolis Convention Center
Bishop Ough Photo by Mike Dubose Greetings! Grace and peace to you from God our creator and our Lord Jesus Christ. On behalf of all Minnesota and Dakotas United Methodists, I want to welcome you to Minneapolis for General Conference 2020. It is ...

Emory & Henry Commencement

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Book of Reports distribution deadline

Sunday, May 10, 2020
Book of Reports must be distributed to delegates of the Annual Conference either in printed or electronic format.  

Mother's Day

Sunday, May 10, 2020

Extended Cabinet Spring Picnic

Thursday, May 21, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet BAC Review

Friday, May 22, 2020

Memorial Day - Offices Closed

Monday, May 25, 2020

UMW Finance Committee Meeting

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Bishop's Day With Ordinands

Thursday, June 4, 2020

Emory & Henry Summer Board Meeting

Friday, June 5, 2020 to Saturday, June 6, 2020
Location TBA

Holston Annual Conference

Sunday, June 7, 2020 to Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Location: Lake Junaluska, NC
CCYM also June 7-10

Full Connection Member Orientation

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Moving Day for Transitioning Pastors

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Father's Day

Sunday, June 21, 2020

Junior and Senior High Assembly

Monday, June 22, 2020 to Friday, June 26, 2020

Deadline for inclusion in 2020 Journal

Thursday, June 25, 2020
 Any report or item for inclusion in the 2020 Journal must be in the hands of the Conference Secretary by this date

SEJ Renfro Trust Fund Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, July 1, 2020
This is an out-of-conference grant managed by the SEJ.

2020 LPLS Registration due

Wednesday, July 1, 2020
2020 LPLS Registration due Questions: ClergyServices@holston.org

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, July 10, 2020 to Saturday, July 11, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

SEJ Conference

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 to Saturday, July 18, 2020

Appalachian Ministry Network Hunger and Poverty Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, July 15, 2020
This is an out-of-conference grant managed by AMN.

Cabinet Retreat

Monday, July 20, 2020 to Friday, July 24, 2020

Holston Conference Mission U

Friday, July 24, 2020 to Saturday, July 25, 2020

CCYM Retreat

Friday, July 24, 2020 to Saturday, July 25, 2020

Foundation Scholarship Luncheon

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, August 7, 2020 to Sunday, August 9, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

UMW Social Action Workshop

Saturday, August 8, 2020

Foundation Legacy Sunday

Sunday, August 16, 2020

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, August 28, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Ethnic Local Church Concerns Grant Application Deadline

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
“Brick and Mortar”

HIV/AIDS Grant Application Deadline

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Labor Day - Offices Closed

Monday, September 7, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, September 11, 2020 to Sunday, September 13, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

UMW Spiritual Enrichment/Annual Meeting

Saturday, September 19, 2020 to Sunday, September 20, 2020
Alumni Meeting and District Officer Training

Elder and Deacon Written Materials Due

Monday, September 21, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Mujeres en Accion - UMW Event

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, October 9, 2020 to Sunday, October 11, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, October 16, 2020 to Saturday, October 17, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, October 30, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Foundation Board Meeting

Friday, October 30, 2020 12:00 PM

Handicap Accessibility Grant Application Deadline

Saturday, October 31, 2020
Deadline for grant application

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, November 7, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

BOM Fall Meeting

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Offices Closed - Thanksgiving Holiday

Wednesday, November 25, 2020 to Friday, November 27, 2020

Holston Home 5th Sunday Offering

Sunday, November 29, 2020
Fifth Sunday offering for Holston Home for Children, Inc.
View more

World AIDS Day

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Extended Cabinet Christmas Dinner

Thursday, December 3, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Friday, December 4, 2020

iCal