Events

January 2020

Annual Reports due to Conference Secretary

Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Reports due from Extension Ministries, Deacons, Medical Leave, Etc    

Appalachian Ministry Network Hunger and Poverty Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
This is a grant managed by AMN.

Five Things About Dementia from a Faith Perspective

Friday, January 17, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: Online Webinar
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

Lay Servant/Speaker Training - TV

Saturday, January 18, 2020 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM

SEJ Cabinet Consultation

Monday, January 20, 2020 to Thursday, January 23, 2020
Location: Epworth By the Sea
Register now to attend the annual SEJ Cabinet Consultation at beautiful Epworth By The Sea! Come worship, fellowship and network with fellow District Superintendents and Director of Connectional Ministries Appointees. Program includes music, plenary ...
View more

Creativity Orlando

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:00 AM to Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 4:00 PM
Location: Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort
What to expect from this Leadership Nexus event: HOPE for the CHURCH from theologians, pastors and experts in creative leadership  INSIGHT into connecting with our ever changing culture  FREEDOM to dream and think outside the box about being the ...
View more

Winter Conference

Sunday, January 26, 2020 to Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Location: Epworth by the Sea
Keynote Speaker: LEN WILSON, Creative Director at St. Andrew UMC, a large church in Plano, TX. He is a storyteller and expert strategist in communications and creativity in church life. After GC 2019, each church will need a clear, concise, creative ...
View more

Launching Leaders: Developing Leaders in the Local Church

Thursday, January 30, 2020 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Location: Online Course
This event will be led by Phil Schroeder and Kay Kotan. Leaders do not develop just because we want leaders developed. Leaders develop because we have an intentional, step-by-step process to ensure the best possible outcome. As you take off on this ...
View more

Feet First: Living Our Faith

Friday, January 31, 2020 to Sunday, February 2, 2020
Location: Kodak United Methodist Church
Romans 10:14-15 CEB So how can they call on someone they don’t have faith in? And how can they have faith in someone they haven’t heard of? And how can they hear without a preacher? And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, How ...
Register

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, January 31, 2020 to Saturday, February 1, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

Fresh Expressions Vision Day for Holston Conference

Saturday, February 1, 2020 9:00 AM to 3:30 PM
Location: Cokesbury UMC, North Campus
Fresh Expressions is a movement that is cultivating new forms of church alongside existing congregations in order to reach a changing world. Begun in England 10 years ago, it has resulted in the birth of over 2,500 new communities in the UK alone. ...
View more

Conversations on Race: Book Discussion & Workshop

Sunday, February 2, 2020 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
Location: Second United Methodist Church
The Reverend Leah Burns will be facilitating a two-session discussion and workshop based on Ibram X. Kendi’s new book: How to Be an Antiracist. In the book, Kendi states that “the only way to undo racism is to identify and describe it—and then ...
View more

Extended Cabinet

Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Thursday, February 6, 2020
Location: Holston Conference Center
Appointment Cabinet

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, February 7, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Conversations on Race - Book Discussion & Workshop

Sunday, February 9, 2020 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
Location: Second United Methodist Church
The Reverend Leah Burns will be facilitating a two-session discussion and workshop based on Ibram X. Kendi’s new book: How to Be an Antiracist. In the book, Kendi states that “the only way to undo racism is to identify and describe it—and then ...
View more

Caring with Compassion: First Responders & Their Families

Monday, February 10, 2020 to Saturday, March 28, 2020
Location: Online Course
This course will explore the lives of First Responders and what they experience in doing the job they have been called to. For the purposes of this course, we consider First Responders to be fire fighters, police, and paramedics. At one time, many ...
View more

Sermon Academy for Lent - 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Location: Holston Conference Center
Lent and Easter are high moments in the year. Ash Wednesday, Palm Sunday, Holy Week, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, Easter Sunday are critical in Jesus' story. This Sermon Academy, led by Rev. Charles Maynard, will focus on texts and ...
Register

Church Leaders: Preparing Yourself for Lent

Wednesday, February 12, 2020 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Location: Online
As Lent approaches, it’s especially important to prepare ourselves for the weeks leading up to Easter. As church leaders, Lent is a time for reflection and spiritual growth that replicates Jesus Christ’s withdrawal in the desert for 40 days. In the ...
View more

The Future of Christianity in the West: Augustine & Benedict

Thursday, February 13, 2020 4:00 PM to Friday, February 14, 2020 at 6:30 PM
Location: St. George's Episcopal Church
What does faithful Christian civic presence look like?What will it look like in the future? At this conference,we will explore and debate two ancient prophetic models—the cloister model of St. Benedict and the two-city model of St. Augustine—mining ...
View more

Five Things a Caregiver Needs to Know About Dementia

Friday, February 14, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: Online Webinar
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

Change for Children Grant Application Deadline

Saturday, February 15, 2020
The Holston Conference Children's Ministry Teams award Change for Children Grants each year in February and in August. The majority of the grants fund children's ministry projects in a local church or Missional Hub. In addition, grants  financially ...
View more

Ministers Convocation: Feb. 17-19 in Pigeon Forge

Monday, February 17, 2020 to Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Location: Music Road Hotel
Registration is now live! Just click on Register button at the right. Join us for another exciting Ministers Convocation event in February! Our theme is “Flourish: Health and Growth for Every Church.” Through our combination of speakers, whether ...
Register

UMW Finance Committee Meeting

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Proposed resolutions and petitions due to Committee on Petitions and Resolutions

Sunday, March 1, 2020
Any proposed resolution or petition must be in the hands of the Committee on Petitions and Resolutions. This gives the committee time to meet and compile its report for inclusion in the Book of Reports   

Looking Ahead to the 2020 General Conference

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 11:00 AM to 11:00 AM
Location: Online Course
The 2020 General Conference of the United Methodist Church takes place May 5-15 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Wil Cantrell, author of UM best-seller “Unaframed and Unashamed: The future of United Methodism” leads this session to provide information ...
View more

MINISTRY ENTREPRENEURSHIP CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

Thursday, March 5, 2020 8:45 PM to Saturday, March 7, 2020 at 12:00 PM
Location: American University
The MINISTRY ENTREPRENEURSHIP CERTIFICATE PROGRAM guides you in thinking beyond the old ways of doing church so that you become a more effective leader. The program is designed for pastors and other ministry leaders seeking innovative ways of ...
View more

Clergy Spouses Retreat

Friday, March 6, 2020 to Sunday, March 8, 2020
Location: Country Cascades
Register

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, March 7, 2020
Location: White Pine UMC

Appointment Week

Monday, March 9, 2020 to Friday, March 13, 2020

From Readiness to Launch – Starting a New Worship Service in an Existing Church

Tuesday, March 10, 2020 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Location: Online Course
Worship is — even now in our 21st century de-churched American culture — the single most important way for your church to reach new people with your understanding of the Gospel. Many new people are interested in giving Christianity a try. Most will ...
View more

Five Things for Being a Good Visitor to Someone w/Dementia

Thursday, March 12, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: Online Webinar
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

Foundation Spring Grants Deadline

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Emory & Henry Founders Day

Thursday, March 26, 2020

Emory & Henry Spring Board Meeting

Friday, March 27, 2020 to Saturday, March 28, 2020
On Campus.

Holston Home 5th Sunday Offering

Sunday, March 29, 2020
Fifth Sunday offering for Holston Home for Children, Inc.
View more

Appointment Cabinet

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Ray Van der Laan - The Last Days of Jesus

Friday, April 3, 2020 to Sunday, April 5, 2020
Location: Fairview UMC
This seminar, led by Ray Van Der Laan,  host of the “That The World May Know” video series, will explore the week of Jesus life from Palm Sunday to Easter in the setting of the city of Jerusalem.  These familiar stories become fresh and powerful when...

Book of Reports goes to print

Monday, April 6, 2020
   

Good Friday - Offices Closed

Friday, April 10, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Board of Ordained Ministry Meeting

Thursday, April 16, 2020

UMW SEJ Meeting

Friday, April 17, 2020 to Sunday, April 19, 2020
Location: Mobile, AL

UMVIM Team Leader Training April 2020

Saturday, April 18, 2020 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Location: First UMC, Oak Ridge
  TRAIN YOUR LEADER! UMVIM TEAM LEADER TRAINING WILL BE OFFERED IN HOLSTON CONFERENCE    SATURDAY, April 18  Time: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Price: $26 Who Should Attend: UMVIM Team Leaders needing this training and any persons interested in leading a ...
Register

Women in Ministry Retreat

Sunday, April 19, 2020 to Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Jubilation celebrates 20th anniversary in 2020

Monday, April 20, 2020 to Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Holston Conference will be celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Jubilation in 2020! What began as a "Resurrection" experience for adults will provide respite, renewal, and rejuvenation for adults in the beauty of the Smokey Mountains on April 20-22, ...
Register View more

Earth Day

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Administrative Professionals Day

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Five things to Minister to Those w/Early Dementia

Wednesday, April 22, 2020 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
More than 16 million Americans provide unpaid care for people with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia. An estimated 5.8 million Americans live with Alzheimer’s, and that number is climbing. How can churches respond? How can churches equip ...
View more

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, April 24, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

UMW Rise Event

Friday, April 24, 2020 to Sunday, April 26, 2020
Location: MainStay Suites

Foundation Board Meeting

Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:00 PM

Council of Bishops Meeting

Thursday, April 30, 2020 to Monday, May 4, 2020

Denman Evangelism Award Nominations Due

Friday, May 1, 2020
Denman Evangelism Award Nominations may be submitted ONLINE or by postal mail.

Book of Reports distribution deadline

Friday, May 8, 2020
Book of Reports must be distributed to delegates of the Annual Conference either in printed or electronic format.  

Emory & Henry Commencement

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Mother's Day

Sunday, May 10, 2020

Extended Cabinet Spring Picnic

Thursday, May 21, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet BAC Review

Friday, May 22, 2020

Memorial Day - Offices Closed

Monday, May 25, 2020

UMW Finance Committee Meeting

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Bishop's Day With Ordinands

Thursday, June 4, 2020

Emory & Henry Summer Board Meeting

Friday, June 5, 2020 to Saturday, June 6, 2020
Location TBA

Holston Annual Conference

Sunday, June 7, 2020 to Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Location: Lake Junaluska, NC
CCYM also June 7-10

Full Connection Member Orientation

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Moving Day for Transitioning Pastors

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Father's Day

Sunday, June 21, 2020

Junior and Senior High Assembly

Monday, June 22, 2020 to Friday, June 26, 2020

Deadline for inclusion in 2020 Journal

Thursday, June 25, 2020
 Any report or item for inclusion in the 2020 Journal must be in the hands of the Conference Secretary by this date

SEJ Renfro Trust Fund Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, July 1, 2020
This is an out-of-conference grant managed by the SEJ.

2020 LPLS Registration due

Wednesday, July 1, 2020
2020 LPLS Registration due Questions: ClergyServices@holston.org

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, July 10, 2020 to Saturday, July 11, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

Appalachian Ministry Network Hunger and Poverty Grant Application Deadline

Wednesday, July 15, 2020
This is an out-of-conference grant managed by AMN.

SEJ Conference

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 to Saturday, July 18, 2020

Cabinet Retreat

Monday, July 20, 2020 to Friday, July 24, 2020

Holston Conference Mission U

Friday, July 24, 2020 to Saturday, July 25, 2020

CCYM Retreat

Friday, July 24, 2020 to Saturday, July 25, 2020

Holy Land and Jordan Experience 2020

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 to Monday, August 16, 2021
Location: Holy Land and Jordan
Join Bishop "Dindy" and Rusty Taylor on our 2020 Holy Land Tour and Jordan Experience On the first leg of your tour, August 4 - 13, visit locations where Jesus walked and preached in Galilee, and follow the footsteps of Christ through Bethlehem, ...

Foundation Scholarship Luncheon

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, August 7, 2020 to Sunday, August 9, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

UMW Social Action Workshop

Saturday, August 8, 2020

Foundation Legacy Sunday

Sunday, August 16, 2020

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, August 28, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Ethnic Local Church Concerns Grant Application Deadline

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
“Brick and Mortar”

HIV/AIDS Grant Application Deadline

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Labor Day - Offices Closed

Monday, September 7, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, September 11, 2020 to Sunday, September 13, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

Holston Home Board of Trustees Meeting

Thursday, September 17, 2020

UMW Spiritual Enrichment/Annual Meeting

Saturday, September 19, 2020 to Sunday, September 20, 2020
Alumni Meeting and District Officer Training

Elder and Deacon Written Materials Due

Monday, September 21, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Mujeres en Accion - UMW Event

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Local Pastor Licensing School

Friday, October 9, 2020 to Sunday, October 11, 2020
  Local Pastor Licensing School   We are truly excited to be sharing with you in this important endeavor. This experience, we trust, will launch a life-long journey of growing and learning in ministry in a humble spirit of fellowship and faith.  
View more

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Exec Committee

Friday, October 16, 2020 to Saturday, October 17, 2020
UMW Committee Meetings and Conference Executive Committee

UMVIM Team Leader Training October 2020

Saturday, October 17, 2020 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Location: First UMC, Oak Ridge
  TRAIN YOUR LEADER! UMVIM TEAM LEADER TRAINING WILL BE OFFERED IN HOLSTON CONFERENCE    SATURDAY, October 17  Time: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Price: $26 Who Should Attend: UMVIM Team Leaders needing this training and any persons interested in leading ...
Register

TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Friday, October 30, 2020
TN Wesleyan University Board of Trustees

Foundation Board Meeting

Friday, October 30, 2020 12:00 PM

Handicap Accessibility Grant Application Deadline

Saturday, October 31, 2020
Deadline for grant application

CCYM Meeting

Saturday, November 7, 2020

Extended Cabinet

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

BOM Fall Meeting

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Offices Closed - Thanksgiving Holiday

Wednesday, November 25, 2020 to Friday, November 27, 2020

Holston Home 5th Sunday Offering

Sunday, November 29, 2020
Fifth Sunday offering for Holston Home for Children, Inc.
View more

World AIDS Day

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Extended Cabinet Christmas Dinner

Thursday, December 3, 2020
Extended Cabinet

Appointment Cabinet

Friday, December 4, 2020

Candidacy Summit Registrations Due

Monday, December 7, 2020

Holston Home Board of Trustees Meeting

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Conference and District Offices Closed - Christmas Holiday

Thursday, December 24, 2020 to Friday, December 25, 2020

Appalachian Ministry Network Hunger and Poverty Grant Application Deadline

Friday, January 15, 2021
This is a grant managed by AMN.

iCal