Francis Asbury Award

Francis Asbury Award

Named for early American Methodist Bishop Francis Asbury, this award honors his call to establish a school in the vicinity of every church. “We must,” he said, “ … give the key of knowledge to your children, and those of the poor in the vicinity of your small towns and villages.”

Today, the award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to fostering United Methodist ministries in higher education at the local, district or annual conference level. It is awarded annually to one honoree per annual conference. Find out more.

Nominations for the 2020 Francis Asbury Award in Holston Conference are due March 27. The award will be presented by Holston's Board of Higher Education and Ministry during Annual Conference June 7-10 in Lake Junaluska, N.C. Download nomination form.

Photo: Presenting the 2019 Asbury Award to Rev. John Ousley. From left to right: Bishop Dindy Taylor; Hayden Scott, Holston Board of Higher Education member; John Ousley, retiring ETSU Wesley Foundation director; Rev. Caleb Frazier, incoming ETSU Wesley Foundation director.

Past award recipients:

2019: John Ousley
2018: Leanna Johnson
2017: Bennett and Evelyn Horton
2016: David St. Clair
2015: Sam Roberts
2014: Keith Knight
2013: William McDonald
2012: Martee Buchanan
2011: Al Bowles
2010: Jerry Everly
2009: Hix Bondurant
2008: Rachel Cochran
2007: Bob Parrott
2006: James Noseworthy
2005: Wayne Cummings
2004: Fred Kellogg
2003: Carol Dunsmore
2002: Lucius Ellsworth
2001: Emmett Shufflebarger
2000: Horace Barker